Which databases are archived?
Nextpoint automatically archives any database that has had no user activity for a period of one year.
What does the archiving process entail?
Archived databases are pulled from active status and are stored as a single encrypted file within the same AWS (Amazon Web Services) region. This ensures the same security protections currently in place with active databases in your account. Archived databases retain all of their historical data, documents, and history, but will need to be activated and reindexed before access can be restored.
When will archiving occur?
Archiving of inactive databases takes place on a rolling basis each month pursuant to the Nextpoint Service Level Agreement (SLA).
Please review the databases in your current account. If there are any inactive databases within your account that your team wishes to keep active, simply login or email email@example.com to let us know.
If you or your team require help identifying inactive databases, please reach out to your account director directly.
Where are archive databases stored?
Your databases will be put into separate cloud storage in the same AWS region in which your account resides. Upon request, this data can be made readily available as needed for cases that reemerge.
Why should I archive unused databases?
Nextpoint performs annual audits for three key reasons. First, limiting exposure to inactive data is a security best practice. Second, a data audit of this type keeps the overall Nextpoint system healthy, stable, and responsive. Third, having an up-to-date active case list prevents any confusion and difficulty when searching for the cases you need to access.
How do I request my data get archived, or alternatively, keep my database active?
If for any reason you need to access your database again, you can contact Nextpoint support, and we will schedule your data to be remounted and made available to you within 5 business days at no charge.
To cancel a pending archive, see this video and follow the steps to change the database status back to "Active."
Will this affect my pricing plan?
Archiving is considered normal included maintenance in your subscription service and does not affect your pricing.
Other Common FAQs?
Does this include my file room data?
Data stored in your file room will not be affected with this audit. Those files will remain accessible with your S3 credentials. Because you will no longer be able to log into the database through the Nextpoint app, please contact Nextpoint support at firstname.lastname@example.org if you need to copy or download additional files from your current file room.
Will my data be deleted once archived?
No, Nextpoint will not delete any data. All databases included in your list will only be archived. Archiving means that Nextpoint will take this particular data out of your active and accessible data storage and place it into a single file in secure cloud storage that can be made available upon request.
What if I don't want to archive my database?
You can cancel a pending archive request by changing the database status back to “Active” from within your account dashboard. See this link.
Where can I view my databases once they are archived?
All archived databases are still visible in your account dashboard. Their status is updated to read “Archived”.
How will this change affect the historical information saved per user in each database?
No changes will be made to your database. All information is retained exactly as is and will be that way when restored.
How often do archiving audits occur at Nextpoint?
To maintain reliable functionality and response rates, Nextpoint conducts database audits and archiving of inactive databases annually. This is standard practice in the data industry.